2015 Fall Movie Preview

2015 Fall Movie Preview

Movies are coming out.  Some will be good.  Some will not be good.  Here’s a preview of more than 40 upcoming releases with trailers for each.  I’ve also included… My opinion!  Feel free to ignore if you wish.  I’m not broken up about it.

SEPTEMBER

The Transporter Refueled

September 4, 2015

I’m not sure if this is entirely necessary but the Jason Statham films were entertaining.  If history has taught us anything it’s recasting roles and cashing in on brand power ALWAYS works out.

The Perfect Guy

September 11, 2015

These types of thrillers usually fly under the radar but this movie has a solid cast and looks like it could be entertaining.  My big concern is predictability.  There are a lot of films abut ‘boyfriends with dark sides’.  If The Perfect Guy brings something new to the genre, it could be a thing?

Sleeping With Other People

September 11, 2015

Jason Sudeikis and Alison Bree team up to star in this romantic comedy that hopefully avoids the ‘Friends with Benefis’ or ‘No Strings Attached’ comparisons.  There are a lot of talented people behind this production.  I wouldn’t be surprised if it turns out to be a heartfelt and funny film.

The Visit

September 11, 2015

Every time M. Night Shyamalan is attached to a project, I get a renewed sense of hope that he can return to ‘Sixth Sense’ form.  What better way to show fans you’ve still got it than partnering with Jason Blum’s Blumhouse Productions on a horror project.  It looks creepy.  I’ll give it a shot.

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

September 18, 2015

Honestly, I’m still no entirely sure what happened in The Maze Runner but it was profitable enough to green light sequels soooooooo…  I didn’t see the original until it popped up on demand and I’ll probably do the same with The Scorch Trials.

Everest

September 18, 2015

Based on a true story, this film features an absolutely stunning cast including: Jason Clarke, Josh Brolin, Jake Gyllenhaal, Keira Knightley, Robin Wright and more!  Sign me up, I can’t see how this movie can disappoint.

Black Mass

September 18, 2015

Johnny Depp absolutely disappears into the role of violent criminal turned FBI informant, Whitey Bulger.  The trailer alone was enough to sell me on this true story.

Sicario

September 18, 2015

Sicario looks like a solid political thriller starring Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin but it’s limited release and stiff competition could keep this film hidden from the main stream.  I hope not but I’ve already committed to Everest on September 18th…  (Also starring Josh Brolin so he wins either way.)  Maybe it earns enough acclaim to dominate it’s wide release on September 25th?  It’s possible.

Hotel Transylvania 2

September 25, 2015

I have to be honest…  I did not see Hotel Transylvania…  I heard it was a solid movie though.  The problem is, I have no immediate plans to see it so I’m the wrong person to ask if the sequel looks promising.  If I had to guess I’d say it’ll will be as good but not better than the original.

The Intern

September 25, 2015

Okay…  My first instinct was to label this film as ‘skip-able’.  Then I saw the trailer and it actually looks quite fun.  If you love quirky comedies this could be something but it’s also a fantastic Sunday afternoon matinee when it arrives on streaming platforms.

Before I Wake

September 25, 2015

This…  Doesn’t look that great…  I love horror films but this looks like it belongs in a January or August release window (which is bad).  However, it is being released at the beginning of the Halloween horror season so this may be something.  But I doubt it.

The Green Inferno

September 25, 2015

I’m on the fence here…  On one hand, the whole ‘torture porn’ genre died alongside Jigsaw in Saw 3.  On the other, a truly terrifying concept from the mind behind Hostel certainly has promise.  This movie was delayed an entire year because of business disputes so it’s about time this film sees the light of day.  It’s always sad when ANY project gets put on the shelf.

The Walk

September 30, 2015

Robert Zemeckis and Joseph Gordon-Levitt team up for another true story September release.  This one focuses on a group who stage an illegal wire walk between the World Trade Center towers.  Trailer looks good.  Could be good.


OCTOBER

Legend

October 2, 2015

A gangster movie starring Tom Hardy twice and written by the man behind L.A Confidential and Mystic River?  Nah…  Why would you want to see something potentially awesome like that?  Especially based on a true story.  Blah.

The Martian

October 2, 2015

The Martian is easily one of my most anticipated films of 2015.  The trailer does a fantastic job selling an extremely solid adventure directed by Ridley Scott featuring a stellar cast.  I should probably read the best selling novel…  (Better to read then watch or the reverse?)

Adam Jones

October 2, 2015

This movie can go either way.  Completely predictable or refreshingly surprising.  John Favreau’s Chef was a fantastic peak into the culinary world.  How will this film differentiate itself with the familiar themes of creativity, passion and redemption?

Pan

October 9, 2015

So…  Pan doesn’t look great to me BUT I absolutely adore the story of Peter Pan.  A new vision of the legendary story can’t be that bad…  All right, I’ve changed my mind.  I’m excited to see this.  Even though Hugh Jackman seems slightly out of place.

Steve Jobs

October 9, 2015

Someday, I’ll write an article on the tremendous impact Steve Jobs had on my life.  I’ve read the novel this film is based on twice.  There isn’t a Danny Boyle film in existence I didn’t enjoy.  Michael Fassbender is pretty much outstanding…  I highly enjoy Aaron Sorkin’s style of screenwriting…  So this movie will most likely suck.  I hate it already.

Goosebumps

October 16, 2015

When I was younger, shows like Are You Afraid of the Dark & Goosebumps were huge!  Deep down, I have high hopes that an updated Goosebumps can take it’s place on my shelf between Goonies and Jumanji…  But it probably won’t…

Crimson Peak

October 16, 2015

If you don’t like imaginative movies with incredible visuals and generally awesome moments you probably don’t like Guillermo Del Toro’s work.  Therefore, you wouldn’t be interested in Crimson Peak and you should just move on.  This movie isn’t for you.

Bridge of Spies

October 16, 2015

Spielberg.  Hanks.  Cold war thriller.  You still don’t want to see this?  Did you watch the trailer? …  Still no?  I don’t know what else to tell you…

Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension

October 23, 2015

The original Paranormal Activity was one of my favorite movie experiences I’ve ever had in a theater.  The sequels didn’t quite reach the same level but I still loved them.  I’m extremely excited that they’ve decided to end the franchise and they’ve taken their time to do so.  Finally, we’ll get answers to the mythology’s greatest questions.  Like ‘What’s up with Katie and her demon team of grandmas?’  The title kind of sucks but I’m over it.

The Last Witch Hunter

October 23, 2015

The people behind this film have high hopes it can become a franchise.  As long as they didn’t make XXX with witch hunting, I think it has a chance.  Vin Diesel’s popularity has never been higher.  His Facebook fan base alone could justify this film’s existence at the box office.

Jem and the Holograms

October 23, 2015

When I saw this trailer, I was consumed by a single yet overwhelming thought: ‘I am NOT the target audience for this one’.  Counter programming opening against PA 5 and The Last Witch Hunter could help this one out.

Rock The Kasbah

October 23, 2015

1st instinct?  This movie looks incredibly strange. 2nd instinct? I like strange.  Will I see it in theaters?  Likely not but I’m all over it On Demand.  Actually, I could see myself catching a matinee.  I’m on the fence…  Tough call…

NOVEMBER

Spectre

November 6, 2015

Since the moment they announced Daniel Craig as the new James Bond, I’ve been wishing for a new adaptation featuring Spectre (and Ernst Blofeld).  Building on the momentum of Skyfall, Craig’s best Bond film yet, Spectre has all the elements of a classic.

The Peanuts Movie

November 6, 2015

I love the animation style in this movie.  Blue Sky Studios truly captured the beloved Peanuts characters in a brilliant way.  I’m not sure if I’ll catch this one in theaters but it looks like a ‘sweet’ movie and I’m sure it’ll do just fine at the box office given the nostalgia people have for the property.

Rings

November 13, 2015

The Ring was a fantastic horror film based on the equally fantastic Japanese version that came before it.  Sequels are tricky especially years after the franchise’s popularity dissipated.  I’m on the fence here leaning towards ‘not really that excited’…  Yet…

The 33

November 13, 2015

Based on the true events of 33 miners who were trapped underground for 69 days.  Antonio Banderas looks like he’s turned in one of his best performances could lift this movie to box office glory.  (At least for 7 days until Mockingjay Part 2 completely dominates every screen on the planet)

By The Sea

November 13, 2015

Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie star in this romance set in the 1970s…  The film is written and directed by Jolie who has certainly proven herself to be a talented filmmaker.

Mockingjay Part 2

November 20, 2015

After a 2 hour first act that may (or may not) have felt a bit bloated, we finally get to the story of this series’ concluding chapter.  At this point, you’re either a fan or you aren’t.  If you haven’t seen the films give them a shot.  They are definitely entertaining even with the slowwwwwwww third installment.  Like it or not this is a true EVENT movie and worth experiencing with fans in a theater.

Spotlight

November 20, 2015

It will be difficult to make waves opening up against one of the biggest blockbusters of 2015 but this cast is pretty fantastic: Mark Ruffalo, Rachel McAdams, Brian d’Arcy James, Michael Keaton, Stanley Tucci, Liev Schreiber, and Billy Crudup.  The film is about is about The Boston Globe’s Pulitzer prize winning ‘Spotlight’ investigative unit and their coverage of the Massachusetts Catholic sex abuse scandal.

Creed

November 25, 2015

I have to say, I didn’t have much hope for a movie about Apollo Creed’s son but this trailer convinced me.  The studio is also confident enough to open this film on Thanksgiving weekend against a Pixar movie.  There HAS to be something there right?

Victor Frankenstein

November 25, 2015

Daniel Radcliffe stars in this retelling of the classic Frankenstein tale.  My main question is whether this film slants more towards drama or horror.  Perhaps a mix of both?  Either way it’s an intriguing project.

The Good Dinosaur

November 25, 2015

If you were to rank Pixar films based on the amount of trouble each production suffered, The Good Dinosaur might rank near the top.  However, we are talking about Pixar and their track record speaks for itself.  Still beaming from the success of Inside Out, I can’t see this film failing on Thanksgiving weekend.  Especially after Jurassic World proved audiences ADORE dinosaur movies.

Midnight Special

November 25, 2015

I like the concept.  I like the cast…  That’s really all I’ve got at this point.


DECEMBER

Krampus

December 4, 2015

Christmas themed horror movies are always campy and fun.  Will Krampus deliver?  Coming from the director of Trick or Treat I’m inclined to say it will be a B-movie and that’s EXACTLY what it should be!

In The Heart Of The Sea

December 11, 2015

I was disappointed when this film was delayed.  It looks like a really fun adventure tail tale.  The thought of swimming in the water with something that big is terrifying. (I have a problem with water)  Debilitating fears aside, I’m still just as hopeful Ron Howard has another classic on his hands.  Perhaps the wait will be well worth it.

Sisters

December 18, 2015

Sisters vs Star Wars is not about which film makes more money.  The champ was crowned when Disney bought Lucasfilm years ago.  This is perfect counter programming featuring one of the best comedy duos working today: Tina Fey and Amy Poehler.  It’s a Baby Mama reunion!

Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens

December 18, 2015

Here it is ladies and gentlemen…  The main event of 2015.  The return of Star Wars!  Star Wars! ………  STAR WARS!!!

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip

December 23, 2015

In a historic turn of events, Star Wars: The Force Awakens only tops the box office for one week thanks to the brilliant Alvin and The Chip– hahahahahahahahahahaha ohhhhh hahahahahahaah my side hahahahahahaha sorry… okay…  okay… I’m good….  hahahahahahahaha

Point Break

December 25, 2015

This actually looks great but I have one issue with the trailer…  ‘To catch them.  He must become them.’  Come on marketing people!

Snowden

December 25, 2015

Joseph Gordon-Levitt stars as Edward Snowden, the CIA employee who leaked thousands of documents to the media.  With Oliver Stone directing, this film has all the elements of a solid political drama.  It may be a tad heavy on Christmas Day maybe?

Daddy's Home

December 25, 2015

Mark Wahlberg vs Will Ferrell.  Christmas Day.  Comedy.  I think this movie will do just fine.

Joy

December 25, 2015

Joy reunites David O. Russel with pretty much the entire cast of Silver Linings Playbook.  This story follows a family across four generations centered on Jennifer Lawrence’s titular character.

The Revenant

December 25, 2015

Leonardo DiCaprio looks like he’s got another strong awards contender on his hands.  With Alejandro G. Iñárritu at the helm, I have no doubt that it will be among the year’s best.

The Hateful Eight

December 25, 2015

Quentin Tarantino.  A new Quentin Tarantino movie is coming!


TOP 10 MOST ANTICIPATED

10. Black Mass

9. Everest

8. In The Heart Of The Sea

7. Bridge Of Spies

6. Spectre

5. Steve Jobs

4. The Martian

3. The Hateful Eight

2. The Revenant

1. Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens

One thought on “2015 Fall Movie Preview


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*